Kevin, my big monster was fired in a cone 6 glaze kiln a few days ago.  As I was shutting that huge metal door behind him, I felt like a mother sending her child off on the school bus for their first day of kindergarden.  I was nervous, but I knew he had to go.  Then, two days later when I opened the kiln door, I saw this.  Kevin did not survive.

 

As the clay shrunk, it shrunk away from its self in some areas.  When I build another piece like this I will be using Raku clay, which is much heartier than stoneware. Obviously I’m disappointed that it didn’t work, but it was a learning experience and I just have to think of it as a test run of things to come.

Thanks for looking!

One thought on “RIP Kevin.

Leave a Reply

